Seeing the recession from my window.

I have been in the same office for the past several years.  It is right in Midtown Manhattan on 49th and Madison.  I can see more than a dozen serious office buildings out of my window.  Looking at those buildings I can see the recession and its impacts.  In the past 12 months or so, I have watched as a number of companies – maybe 8 or 9 – have packed up and gone dark.   I can see a lot of vacant space without having to get out of my chair.  What has also been interesting is to watch when the lights go on in the morning and off in the evening.  People are working harder.  I can remember being in my office at 8:00 or 9:00 pm and seeing only a smattering of lights and only a handful of people still at their desks.  Last night at about 8:30 as I was packing my bag I waved to the two people who occupy the office that faces my window.   If a recession is solved by hard work, a recovery should not be too far away.

2 responses to “Seeing the recession from my window.

  1. Miriam Holland

    Interesting post.. I agree that there are so many things that can measure the result of the recession — even yard sales.

  2. Totally agreed on the sights, sounds, and smells of the lingering recession. I wonder what happens to the new intensity of everyone’s adjusted work style when things get fat again? Is this an era of a renewed work ethic and making money the old fashioned way….hard work over long periods of time?

Leave a comment